True cost of Scotland’s cocaine: Inspired to help street kids

True cost of Scotland’s cocaine: Inspired to help street kids

PETER Walters was a student when he first encountered the street children.

But his experiences in 1982 changed his life. He recalled: "My money was running out and I could only eat once every two days.

"I met a group of kids from Medellin who were living and working on the street.

"When they asked me for money and realised I was as hungry as they were, they were very amused because they had never met a poor foreigner before. They decided to look after me and shared their food with me.

"It was their initial kindness to me that moved me so much."

When he returned home, he started raising money for the kids, and he continued to visit Colombia after he was ordained as an Anglican priest.

It was while he was based at the Anglican shrine of Our Lady of Walsingham in Norfolk that he founded Let The Children Live!

He moved to Colombia permanently in January 1994 and was ordained a Catholic priest the following year.

Leave a Reply

