Student documents plight of street children

Student documents plight of street children
Monday July 16 2007 11:04 IST

VISAKHAPATNAM: Inspired by the likes of Mother Teresa, a final year chemical engineering student of GMR Institute of Technology at Rajam, CSV Sekhar made a documentary film – ‘Street Diaries’ – to spread awareness about street children and thereby pave the way for their education. The documentary depicts the plight of children on account of poverty and lack of education.

Speaking to this website’s newspaper, Sekhar said: “Education is the most effective tool to eradicate poverty and other problems being faced by the street children, who were deserted by their parents. My mother C Hymavathi and other friends encouraged me to make the film. I interviewed 10 street children in Visakhapatnam city and shot the film in 10 days, spending Rs 25,000 given by my mother.” Sekhar’s childhood friend P Sricharan scored the music for the 20-minute documentary.

“I observed most street children roam on the streets and make a living by seeking alms or doing menial jobs. First we need to tell them about life,” Sekhar said. “Lack of social and government support and the way they were brought up forced them to get addicted to smoking, drinking and other vices,” he added.

The documentary begins with depiction of the contrasts in lives of children who hail from well-to-do families and unlucky homeless ones on the streets.

A 12-year-old street boy Shyam, says in the documentary: “I lost my mother in my childhood. I don’t know what to do? I beg at the railway station and other public places to eke out a living. I want to study but I don’t know how to study and where to go? Given an opportunity, I will study.”

Sekhar sent the movie to President APJ Abdul Kalam for his views. The film was also submitted for screening in the 4th CMS Vatavaran Environment and Wildlife Film Festival scheduled to be held in New Delhi in September, 2007.

Leave a Reply

